machina eX

Life Goes On

  • Game
  • Performance
  • 2022/2023
  • German

In "Life Goes On – at Home", the players take an excursion into the German-German past for which they do not have to leave the living room table. A multimedia board game to download, print out, listen to and explore.
Online available until 15.1.2023

After clicking on the "Enter" button, you will be taken to the website https://lifegoeson.machinaex.org.

 

INSTRUCTIONS
“Life Goes On – at Home” is a printable multimedia board game which can be downloaded. It is designed for two to four players and takes about two hours to complete. The game is played both online in a web browser and with analogue game materials. All players should therefore be in the same place – preferably sitting at a large table.
Each player needs a smartphone with a current web browser and a pair of headphones to listen to the audio files that are part of the game. In addition, a second device is needed (we recommend a tablet, but a smartphone or laptop will also work), also with an up-to-date web browser. All devices must be permanently connected to the internet during the game. 
Part of “Life Goes On” are analogue game materials that need to be printed out before starting the game. Detailed instructions and all materials for download are available on the machina eX website, from which the game can be started.

Once known throughout the entire German Democratic Republic for its delicious chocolate balls, today the small city of Prückwitz consists solely of closed factory buildings and a timid hope for tourism. A dedicated mayor and a US-American investor could help the city to flourish economically if it weren’t for this one parcel of land: Treuhand sold it to a fortune hunter who has now disappeared during the German Reunification and now it is thwarting the dream of an industrial park. Prückwitz’s dream of revival is threatened once more with collapse due to the legacy of decisions made a long, long time ago.

Prückwitz does not exist, but if Prückwitz ever had existed, it would look just like this. Following “Layers of Life”, which was performed at the HAU in 2021, the game theater collective machina eX now returns to this fictitious location of very real events in order to unearth the legacy of issues that the past has left behind in the present. 

The multimedia table top game “Life Goes On”, takes the audience on a journey to the West German-East German past and it doesn’t even need to get from the table to do so. With game boards, converted smartphones, headphones, and event cards, the players create their own Prückwitz.

Note:

Recommended for people 14 years and older.

Date

Cast

Concept: machina eX / Performance (audio): Anne Eigner, Godehard Giese, Sina Kießling, Thomas Mielmann, Laura Naumann, David Simon, Stephan Stock, Leon Ullrich / Text: Clara Ehrenwerth / Interaction Design & Programming: Lasse Marburg, Benedikt Kaffai / Collaboration programming: Philip Steimel / Dramaturgy: Lena Vöcklinghaus / Sound Design: Matthias Millhoff / Collaboration game design: Anton Rose / Scenography: För Künkel, Mirjam Hildbrand / Interface & UX Design: Elisa Haubert / Graphic design: Ines Strzedulla / Production management: Sina Kießling

Production: machina eX. Co-production: HAU Hebbel am Ufer. Gefördert durch: Funded by: Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe, Fonds Darstellende Künste with funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media within the framework of NEUSTART KULTUR. Part of Berlin Science Week.

machina eX

Life Goes On

  • Game
  • Performance
  • 2022/2023
  • Deutsch

In “Life Goes On – at Home“ unternehmen die Spieler*innen einen Ausflug in die deutsch-deutsche Vergangenheit, für den sie den Wohnzimmertisch nicht verlassen müssen. Ein multimediales Brettspiel zum Herunterladen, Ausdrucken, Zuhören und Erkunden.
Online abrufbar bis 15.1.2023

Nach einem Klick auf den "Enter" Button gelangen sie zur Webseite https://lifegoeson.machinaex.org.

 

ANLEITUNG

“Life Goes On ­– at Home” ist ein multimediales Brettspiel zum Herunterladen und Ausdrucken. Es ist für zwei bis vier Spieler*innen konzipiert und dauert etwa zwei Stunden. Gespielt wird sowohl online im Web-Browser als auch mit analogen Spielmaterialien. Alle Mitspieler*innen sollten sich daher am gleichen Ort befinden – am besten an einem großen Tisch.

Jede*r Spielende braucht ein Smartphone mit aktuellem Webbrowser und ein eigenes Paar Kopfhörer, um die Audiodateien hören zu können, die zum Spiel gehören. Zusätzlich wird ein weiteres Gerät benötigt (wir empfehlen ein Tablet, aber ein Smartphone oder ein Laptop funktionieren auch), ebenfalls mit aktuellem Webbrowser. Alle Geräte müssen während des Spiels dauerhaft mit dem Internet verbunden sein. 

Teil von “Life Goes On” sind analoge Spielmaterialien, die vor dem Spielstart ausgedruckt werden müssen. Eine genaue Anleitung sowie alle Materialien zum Download gibt es auf der Webseite von machina eX, von der aus das Spiel gestartet werden kann.

Einst in der ganzen DDR für ihre köstlichen Schokoladenkugeln bekannt, besteht die Kleinstadt Prückwitz heute nur noch aus stillgelegten Fabrikgebäuden und einer zaghaften Hoffnung auf Tourismus. Eine engagierte Bürgermeisterin und ein amerikanischer Investor könnten der Stadt zu wirtschaftlicher Blüte verhelfen, wäre da nicht dieses eine Flurstück: Die Treuhand hat es zur Wendezeit an einen mittlerweile verschollenen Glücksritter verkauft und nun durchkreuzt es die Vision vom Gewerbepark. Prückwitz’ Traum vom Aufschwung droht einmal mehr, unter der Last weit zurückliegender Entscheidungen zu zerbrechen.

Prückwitz gibt es nicht, aber wenn es Prückwitz je gegeben hätte, dann würde es genau so aussehen. Nach “Layers of Life”, das 2021 am HAU gespielt wurde, kehrt das Game-Theater-Kollektiv machina eX an den fiktiven Ort des sehr realen Geschehens zurück, um die Altlasten auszugraben, die die Vergangenheit in der Gegenwart hinterlassen hat. 

Das multimediale Brettspiel “Life Goes On” nimmt das Publikum auf einen Ausflug in die deutsch-deutsche Vergangenheit mit, bei dem der Spieltisch nicht verlassen werden muss. Mit Spielplänen, umfunktionierten Smartphones, Kopfhörern und Ereigniskarten erschaffen sich die Spieler*innen ihr eigenes Prückwitz.

Hinweis:

Empfohlen für Menschen ab 14 Jahren.

Termine

Team

Konzept: machina eX / Performance (Audio): Anne Eigner, Godehard Giese, Sina Kießling, Thomas Mielmann, Laura Naumann, David Simon, Stephan Stock, Leon Ullrich / Text: Clara Ehrenwerth / Interaction Design & Programmierung: Lasse Marburg, Benedikt Kaffai / Mitarbeit Programmierung: Philip Steimel / Dramaturgie: Lena Vöcklinghaus / Sound-Design: Matthias Millhoff / Mitarbeit Game-Design: Anton Rose / Szenografie: För Künkel, Mirjam Hildbrand / Interface- & UX-Design: Elisa Haubert / Grafikdesign: Ines Strzedulla / Produktionsleitung: Sina Kießling

Produktion: machina eX. Koproduktion: HAU Hebbel am Ufer. Gefördert durch: Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa, Fonds Darstellende Künste aus Mitteln der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen von NEUSTART KULTUR. Teil der Berlin Science Week.